Venus takes your questions and answers them below.
To pose your question, email Venus at firstname.lastname@example.org.
In a medal play competiton, what happens when 2 people are tied at the end of the round with the same score? Is the winner decided by net or gross?
A "medal" competition actually means "gross" score competition. So if players have tied with their "gross" scores, then it looks like they are headed to a playoff. . . and that can be gross!
I was hoping you can answer my questions about golf.
I was curious as to the average distance most amateur women hit the golf ball. I am 5’3” 130 pounds, 44 years old and have been playing golf about 6 years. My handicap is 19, I exercise regularly, and take lessons every year. My husband doesn’t’ seem to understand that I would REALLY like more distance! I am hitting my driver better but it seems that it goes the same distance as my 3 wood. I have more control with my 3-wood, so I wonder if I should drive with that instead? I have Square 2 Light and Easy woods and irons.
Also, would it make a difference to use a Callaway Big Bertha or a different wood? Any advice on distance would be appreciated. I am only around men in the golf world and could really use another woman’s opinion. I hope you have time to answer my question. I am a golf nut!
Thanks so much for your time.
I like your question about driving with a 3 wood instead of a driver. If you hit your 3 wood as far as your driver, then say goodbye to your driver and hello to your new “driving” club that says 3 wood on the bottom. Half of my students have the same problem and are totally relieved when they are given permission to use the club that works best for them. (Drivers can be over-rated!)
Be nice to all the guys that want to give you advice, but find one good pro that you believe in and close your ears to all the other self-proclaimed experts. (Particularly those who can’t break 100!)
As far as choosing Callaway woods, that's what I use and they are AWESOME!
Thanks for the question.
During a practice swing I accidentally hit the golf ball. What is the ruling?
Dear Accident Waiting to Happen,
Sorry to inform you that you just cost yourself a single stroke. It's the same as if you hit the ball "on purpose." The good news is that there are no additional penalty strokes added to your score. I realize that although its not a favorable ruling for you - at least you didn't whiff the ball completely!
Thanks for the great question, and next time, take your practice swing further away from the ball!
I am a beginner golfer. I am having soooo much trouble with my swing. So many times when I am on my downswing, it's like I lose control of my club. I either top the ball or hit the ground 6-12 inches before the ball (thud!).... Please help me!!!!! My husband tells me on the down swing I need to move my hips through first. Why is that so hard for me? I really don't think I am that uncoordinated!!
Learning golf is no different than learning the ABC's, you must master one letter at a time. Before you start worrying about what your hips are doing on the downswing, let's focus on the letter A: Ball Contact. I want you to imagine an eyeball on the face of your 9 iron, then I want you to keep that eyeball on the ball as you swing away. Only take a half swing so you have control of the club. Feel as though you have a broom in your hand and you are sweeping the club away. Back, then forward with the goal of hitting the ball squarely on the eyeball. Do yourself a favor and tee up every ball so you can accomplish this fundamental. Like every learned skill in life, success breeds success.
Hope this lesson gets you started in the right direction.
I have played at my local club in many different tournaments. Sometimes people give "gimmes" when the ball is two to three inches from the hole. Other times no one gives gimmes as that is the strict rule of golf. A friend of mine and I played in a tournament recently where the other team gave us gimmes as we did for them. My partner now feels it was cheating and therefore her handicap is lower than it should be. Should she really be worried about this?
Dear Conscience One,
I appreciate your question about gimmes, as they are a very big part of the game of golf. Whether you agree with taking them or not, they do speed up play, and for many social golfers, they make the game a lot more fun. Although gimmes may not be legal for a USGA stroke play event, they are indeed legal in match play, which is what I assume you were playing with your friend. I would certainly not feel guilty because you were entitled to a few gimmes in a given round of golf. I would also argue that your handicap's weren't seriously effected. If that were the case, then just about everybody who has ever played in a match play event could argue that their handicaps are not perfect and the entire handicap system would be faulted. Confucius says that church is where you go to feel your guilt and pray for forgiveness, golf courses are where you go to clear your mind and pray for more gimmes!
Venus says, Let go and Let's golf!
Please Help !!!!!
A question about the out of bounds stakes.
Does the out of bounds start and end at the stakes?
In other words, if you hit the ball past the last stake but would be out of bounds if there were another stake in line with the last two stakes. A friend says the out of bounds stakes go to infinity on the golf course. Please see the following example. What is the status of the ball that is not near any stakes? Thanks.
. what about this ball?
. ball is out of bounds
||ball is in bounds
Great question! The last stake is officially the end of the out of bounds. The first stake is the start of the out of bounds.(It does NOT extend forever.) If you are ever in doubt as to whether you are out of bounds, go behind one stake and look to see if your is ball in or out between the two stakes. If the white stakes end at some point and you are beyond the last stake, then you got a big break, because you are in and still breathing!
The OB has to be between the stakes. That is my ruling and you were definitely "in bounds" to ask such an interesting question, thanks!
Your pro in the know,